Jump to start of page content
Scottish Arts Council - Link to home page

advanced search

Please Note:

As from 1 July 2010, this site will no longer be updated and will be retained for Archive purposes only.

For the latest information on the Arts, Creative Industries and Film & TV in Scotland please visit:

Home*Arts in Scotland*Literature*Projects*Book awards 2008*Book Awards 2008 Authors
About us
Contact us
Latest news
Arts in Scotland
What's on
16 24 explore
Web help
Site map

Sundial Scottish Arts Council Book of the Year

Finalists | Shortlist | Judges | Authors

Author’s Biographies

On 3 April the Sundial Scottish Arts Council Book Awards announced the winners in the categories of fiction, non fiction, poetry and first book each receiving a prize of £5000. The winning authors are:

Robert Macfarlane - Non-Fiction
Jane McKie - First Book
Edwin Morgan - Poetry
Ali Smith - Fiction

Robert Macfarlane won the Guardian First Book Award, a Somerset Maugham Award and the Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award for his astonishing first book, Mountains of the Mind.  He was a Man Booker judge in 2004 and writes regularly for a number of publications.

He is a Fellow in English at Emmanuel College, Cambridge.  He lives in Cambridge with his wife and two children.

Jane McKie received a Scottish Arts Council New Writer's Bursary in 2005 to help towards the production of her first collection of poetry.  As well as Morocco Rococo, published by Cinnamon Press in 2007, she has had individual or groups of poems published in Island Magazine, New Writing Scotland, The Red Wheelbarrow, Other Poetry, Pennine Platform, and, most recently, Granta Books' New Writing 15 and the University of Edinburgh anthology, V.  As well as poetry, Jane enjoys writing prose and is part of the Edinburgh-based group Writers' Bloc, a spoken word performance collective.  She has worked in adult education in a variety of guises, but is currently concentrating on writing, and on publishing other writers and artists through Knucker Press (www.knuckerpress.com).  She lives in Linlithgow with her husband and young daughter.

Edwin Morgan was born in Glasgow in 1920. He became lecturer in English at the University of Glasgow, from which he retired as Professor in 1980.  He was appointed Poet Laureate of Glasgow in 1999, and received the Queen’s Gold medal for Poetry in 2000. In June 2001 he received the Weidenfeld Prize for Translation for Phaedra. In 2004 Edwin Morgan was appointed Scotland’s Makar, or Poet Laureate.

Ali Smith’s first book, Free Love, won the Saltire First book Award. She is also the author of Like (1997); Other Stories And Other Stories (1999); Hotel World (2001), which was shortlisted for both the Orange Prize and the Booker Prize, and won the Encore Award; The Whole Story and Other Stories (2003) and The Accidental (2005), which was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize and the Orange Prize and won the Whitbread Novel of the Year Award.

top of page print this page - opens in new window send to a friend  
Awarding funds from The National Lottery

© Scottish Arts Council. All rights reserved. Terms & conditions | Accessibility information