Jump to start of page content
Scottish Arts Council - Link to home page

advanced search

Please Note:

As from 1 July 2010, this site will no longer be updated and will be retained for Archive purposes only.

For the latest information on the Arts, Creative Industries and Film & TV in Scotland please visit:

Home*Arts in Scotland*Literature*Features*Muriel Spark Fellowship
About us
Contact us
Latest news
Arts in Scotland
What's on
16 24 explore
Web help
Site map

Muriel Spark Fellowship

Writer David Malouf to be second Muriel Spark International Fellow

Internationally renowned Australian writer David Malouf has accepted the Scottish Arts Council’s invitation to visit Scotland this autumn as the second Muriel Spark International Fellow.

David Malouf

The late Dame Muriel Spark bestowed her name upon the Fellowship, which was established by the Scottish Arts Council in 2004. The Fellowship hosts a one-month visit to Scotland by a leading world writer every two years, providing them with the opportunity to spend time concentrating on work while also taking part in a number of masterclasses, readings and lectures. The inaugural Fellow in 2006 was world-famous Canadian novelist Margaret Atwood.

Much of Malouf’s work has strong Scottish resonances, reflecting the influence of Scottish immigrant communities on Australian life, language and culture. Anticipating his visit, he said: ‘I look forward, immensely, to being in Scotland for a time and will discover in it, as I have on past occasions, a kind of "homecoming"'.

During his four week stay in Scotland from mid-September to mid-October, David will appear in a ‘Meet the Author’ event at the Traverse Theatre as part of the Edinburgh International Book Festival’s autumn programme. He will also deliver a public lecture hosted by the University of Edinburgh; give a masterclass to students of Creative Writing at the University of St Andrew’s School of English; and appear in a ‘Selected Works’ event at the Scottish Poetry Library.

David Malouf was born in Queensland, Australia, in 1934. He is the author of 20 works of poetry, fiction, autobiography, and drama, and winner of many prestigious awards and prizes. His work includes Johnno (1975), Harland’s Half Acre (1985) The Great World (1991), Remembering Babylon (1994). His latest book is the collection of short stories Every Move You Make (2006).

Further details of public events will be available in due course

top of page print this page - opens in new window send to a friend  
Awarding funds from The National Lottery

© Scottish Arts Council. All rights reserved. Terms & conditions | Accessibility information