Jump to start of page content
Scottish Arts Council - Link to home page

advanced search

Please Note:

As from 1 July 2010, this site will no longer be updated and will be retained for Archive purposes only.

For the latest information on the Arts, Creative Industries and Film & TV in Scotland please visit:

Home*Arts in Scotland*Literature*Features*Book Awards 2010
About us
Contact us
Latest news
Arts in Scotland
What's on
16 24 explore
Web help
Site map

Sixteen Books Shortlisted for Scotland’s Biggest Literary Prize

Sixteen Scottish authors are in the running to receive £30,000 and Scotland’s Book of the Year accolade as part of the Scottish Arts Council’s Scottish Mortgage Investment Trust 2010 Book Awards.

John Aberdein

Alan Bissett

A.L. Kennedy

Liam McIlvanney

Robert Crawford

William Dalrymple

Donald Worster

John Burnside

Thomas A. Clark

Don Paterson

Tom Leonard

Richard Price


Sarah Gabriel

J.O Morgan

Andrew Philip

Exploring themes of love, vanity, loyalty, hope and despair, the Scottish authors have been recognized for their literary excellence by judges Pat Kane, Kirsty Gunn, Catherine Lockerbie and Dr Gavin Wallace, across four categories; fiction, non-fiction, poetry and first book.

Four category winners will be chosen in April, one of whom will go on to win Scotland’s largest literary prize, the Scottish Mortgage Investment Trust/Scottish Arts Council Book of the Year, which will be announced as part of the Borders Books Festival on 18 June 2010, in Melrose.

The books capture the width and breadth of Scotland’s literary talent both residing in and outwith Scotland as they exploring beauty, nature, disaster, religion, history, politics, both in Scotland and far beyond.  

The shortlisted books are:


John Aberdein, Strip the Willow (Polygon)
Alan Bissett, Death of a Ladies’ Man (Hachette Scotland)
A L Kennedy, What Becomes (Jonathan Cape)
Liam McIlvanney, All the Colours of the Town (Faber)


Robert Crawford, The Bard: Robert Burns, a biography (Pimlico)
William Dalrymple, Nine Lives: In Search of the Modern India (Bloomsbury)
Donald Worster, A Passion for Nature: The Life of John Muir (Oxford university Press)


John Burnside, The Hunt in the Forest (Jonathan Cape)
Thomas A Clark, The Hundred Thousand Places (Carcanet Press)
Don Paterson, Rain (Faber)
Tom Leonard, Outside the Narrative (Word Power/Etruscan Books)
Richard Price, Rays (Carcanet Press)

First Book

Nick Currie (Momus), Solution 11-167: The Book of Scotlands (Sternberg Press)
Sarah Gabriel, Eating Pomegranates (Jonathan Cape)
JO Morgan, Natural Mechanical (CB Editions)
Andrew Philip, The Ambulance Box (Salt Publishing)

For more information about the awards visit www.scottisharts.org.uk/bookawards

See also
* 2010 Book Awards Shortlist
* 2010 Book Awards Judges
* 2010 Book Awards Winners
top of page print this page - opens in new window send to a friend  
Awarding funds from The National Lottery

© Scottish Arts Council. All rights reserved. Terms & conditions | Accessibility information